top of page
nathan-dumlao-7Cu1ZASeekM-unsplash.jpg
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
indian-kopie_1.jpeg

Dr. Satish Joshi - President

 

is an engineer-chemist and holds a doctorate in environmental science from the ETH. He previously studied in Mumbai and then at the University of Zurich. He is an Overseas Citizen of India as well as a Swiss citizen. As he is a practicing Hindu and his wife Protestant, with two children, they form a binational & bicultural family. Dr. Satish Joshi is a cultural communicator for India and Hinduism and represents their voice in various interfaith organisations (IRAS COTIS / Zurich Forum of Religions etc.) as well as in Swiss society.

vevekaji.jpg

Swami Vivekananda - Vice President

 

came into contact with Hinduism at the age of 12 through her mother and decided as a teenager in the early 1970s to live in the Ashram (monastery). She has been leading the Omkarananda Ashram in Winterthur for over 40 years and is also active as a priest.

sr-sdh_1_orig.jpg

Sandeep Rajan - Finance / Accounting

 

Sandeep Rajan comes from Mysore in India. He has been living in Switzerland (Richterswil) since 2002 with his wife and two children. He works for an insurance company.

FotoVidyabhaskar.jpg

Acharya Vidyabhaskar - General Secretary

Vidyabhaskar grew up in Switzerland, England and India, where he studied from the age of 12 in the traditional Kailas Ashram in Rishikesh Panini’s Sanskrit grammar and the Shastras (the Upanishads, Brahmasutras and Bhagavadgita with the traditional Sanskrit commentaries).

Today he teaches Sanskrit, the scriptures, Maitri meditation and Atiyoga, for example, at the Sarvamangala Foundation.

krishna-premarupa-das.jpg

Krishna Premarupa dasa - Board Member

 

Originally raised Roman Catholic, he decided in 2001 to live as a monk in the Bhakti Yoga tradition of Gaudiya Vaishnavism. Since 2007 he has been serving in the Krishna Community of Switzerland as Temple President and has been strongly involved in interfaith dialogue for many years.

img-1368_2.jpg

Jeganathan Periyathamby - Board Member

was born in Sri Lanka in 1960, came to Switzerland in the early 1980s, like many of his compatriots, because of the civil war. As a founding member of the Sri Sivasubramaniar Temple Adliswil, he was one of the early pioneers who worked to safeguard Tamil culture and religion. Today he lives with his wife and three children in Zürich. He serves the Adliswil temple as a board member and is responsible for administration. He represents Tamil Hinduism in this Swiss Umbrella Association for Hinduism.

sowgandhika_1_edited_edited.jpg

Sowgandhika Krishnan Rao - Board Member / Event Management

Sowgandhika is an Indian classical dancer and theatre artist.  She hails from a family of Sanskrit scholars of the Dvaita Vedanta Vaishnava tradition. Her interest in philosophy started from her teenage years reading the Bhagavad Gita and an introduction to the philosophical works of her grand uncle and eminent scholar Dr. B. N. Krishnamoorthy Sharma. Sowgandhika holds an MBA from HEC Paris, postgrad certifications from Wharton, SDA Bocconi and Yale, and in filmmaking from FTII, Pune. She runs an entertainment startup in Zurich. She organises concerts, dance theatre shows, theatre based corporate training programmes and focuses on education through the arts.

Ganeshkumar Velupillai - Vorstandsmitglied


Born in Sri Lanka in 1957, he came to Switzerland as a refugee in 1982 and worked for around 40 years at SwissOptic AG and Leica Geosystems AG in Heerbrugg SG, among other companies, until his retirement.
In 2001, he also obtained Swiss citizenship. He is married and the father of five daughters. In 2005 he co-founded the Muruga Temple in St. Margrethen. Since the beginning he has been committed to the temple until today in the function of the president.

Ganeshkumar Velupillai_edited.jpg

Swami Amarananda - Member of the Advisory Board

 

joined the Order of Ramakrishna in 1966. For 20 years he worked in various congregations of the Order in India. In September 1986, he was given responsibility for the Centre Védantique Ramakrishna in France. Three years later he became the director of the Centre Védantique Genèva, which he still runs today.

swamia-photo-010617-2_1.jpg
bottom of page

nathan-dumlao-7Cu1ZASeekM-unsplash.jpg
VORSTAND
indian-kopie_1.jpeg

Dr. Satish Joshi - Präsident


ist diplomierter Ingenieur-Chemiker und promovierter Umweltwissenschafter der ETH. Er hat zuerst in Mumbay und danach an der Uni Zürich studiert. Er ist sowohl Overseas Citizen of India als auch Schweizer Bürger. Da er Vater von zwei Kinder, ein praktizierender Hindu und seine Frau evangelisch-reformiert ist, bilden sie eine binationale & bikulturelle Familie. Dr. Satish Joshi ist ein Kultur-Kommunikator für Indien und für den Hinduismus und vertritt diese Stimme in verschiedenen Interreligiösen Organisationen (IRAS COTIS / Zürcher Forum der Religionen u.a.) sowie in der schweizerischen Gesellschaft.

vevekaji.jpg

Swami Vivekananda - Vizepräsidentin


kam im Alter von 12 Jahren über ihre Mutter in den Kontakt mit dem Hinduismus und entschied sich als junge Frau in den frühen 70er Jahren für ein Leben im Ashram (Kloster). Seit über 40 Jahren leitet sie den Omkarananda Ashrama in Winterthur und ist auch als Priesterin tätig. 

sr-sdh_1_orig.jpg

Sandeep Rajan - Finanzen / Buchhaltung


Sandeep Rajan kommt aus Mysore in Indien. Seit 2002 lebt er in der Schweiz (Richterswil) mit seiner Frau und zwei Kindern. Er arbeitet für eine Versicherungsgesellschaft.

FotoVidyabhaskar.jpg

Acharya Vidyabhaskar - Generalsekretär

Vidyabhaskar ist in der Schweiz, in England und in Indien aufgewachsen, wo er ab 12 Jahren im traditionellen Kailas Ashram die Sanskrit-Grammatik von Panini und die Shastras (die Upanishads, Brahmasutras und Bhagavadgita mit den traditionellen Sanskrit-Kommentaren) studiert hat. Heute unterrichtet er Sanskrit, die Schriften, Maitri-Meditation und Atiyoga bei der Sarvamangala Foundation.

krishna-premarupa-das.jpg

Krishna Premarupa dasa - Vorstandsmitglied


Ursprünglich römisch-katholisch aufgewachsen entschied er sich 2001 für ein Leben als Mönch in der Bhakti Yoga Tradition des Gaudiya Vaishnavatums. Seit 2007 dient er in der Krishna Gemeinschaft Schweiz als Tempelpräsident und ist seit Jahren stark im interreligiösen Dialog engagiert.  

img-1368_2.jpg

Jeganathan Periyathamby - Vorstandsmitglied


wurde 1960 in Sri Lanka geboren, kam Anfang der 80er Jahre, wie viele seiner Landsleute aufgrund des Bürgerkriegs, in die Schweiz. Als Gründungsmitglied des Sri Sivasubramaniar Tempel Adliswil war er einer der frühen Pioniere, welche sich für die Sicherung der tamilischen Kultur und Religion einsetzte. Heute lebt er mit seiner Frau und drei Kindern in Zürich, wo er dem Tempel in Adliswil als Vorstandsmitglied dient und für die Administration zuständig ist. Im Schweizerischen Dachverband für Hinduismus vertritt er den tamilischen Hinduismus.

sowgandhika_1_edited_edited.jpg

Sowgandhika Krishnan Rao - Vorstandsmitglied / Event Management


Sowgandhika ist eine klassische indische Tänzerin und Theaterkünstlerin. Sie entstammt einer Familie von Sanskrit-Gelehrten der Davita Vedanta Vaishnava-Tradition. Ihr Interesse an der Philosophie begann, als sie als Teenager die Bhagavad Gita las und eine Einführung in die philosophischen Werke ihres Großonkels und bedeutenden Gelehrten Dr. B. N. Krishnamoorthy Sharma erhielt. Sowgandhika hat einen MBA von der HEC Paris, Postgraduierten-Abschlüsse von Wharton, SDA Bocconi und Yale sowie einen Abschluss als Filmemacherin von FTII, Pune. Sie leitet ein Unterhaltungs-Startup in Zürich. Sie organisiert Konzerte, Tanzdarbietungen, theaterbasierte Schulungsprogramme für Unternehmen und konzentriert sich auf Bildung durch Kunst.
 

Ganeshakumar Velupillai - Vorstandsmitglied


1957 in Sri Lanka geboren, kam er im Jahr 1982 als Flüchtling in die Schweiz und arbeitete bis zu seiner Pensionierung während rund 40 Jahren unter anderem bei der SwissOptic AG und Leica Geosystems AG in Heerbrugg SG.
Im Jahr 2001 hat er zudem das Schweizer Bürgerrecht erhalten. Er ist verheiratet und Vater von fünf Töchtern. Im Jahr 2005 hat er den Muruga-Tempel in St. Margrethen mitgegründet. Seit Beginn bis heute engagiert er sich in der Funktion des Präsidenten für den Tempel.

Ganeshkumar Velupillai_edited.jpg

Swami Amarananda - Beiratsmitglied


Er trat im Jahr 1966 dem Orden von Ramakrishna bei. Während 20 Jahren arbeitet er in  verschiedenen Gemeinden des Ordens in Indien. Im September 1986 wurde ihm die Verantwortung für das Centre Védantique Ramakrishna in Grenz Frankreich übertragen. Drei Jahre später wurde er dann Direktor des Centre Védantique Genève, welches er bis zum heutigen Tag leitet. 

swamia-photo-010617-2_1.jpg